HVE Client Denise Harkavy is chosen for this year’s WGA Writer Access Project!

2016 TV Writer Access Project
For Mid-Level Diverse Television Writers

The Diversity department of the Writers Guild of America, West is pleased to announce the honorees for the 2016 WGAW TV Writer Access Project, a program designed to identify excellent, diverse writers with television staffing experience.

Qualified WGAW members were invited to submit their work in one of five diversity categories: minority writers; writers with disabilities; women writers; writers age 55 and over; and LGBT writers.

Scripts, which underwent two rounds of judging, were read and scored on a blind submission basis by WGAW members with extensive television writing experience, including current and former showrunners and writer/producers.


Click on the writers’ names to access their bios, contacts and scripts.











Standing (L-R):

Ursula Wendel
Richard Whitley
John-Paul Nickel
Talicia Raggs
Adrian Alejandro Cruz
Donald Joh

Seated (L-R):

Carmen Pilar Golden
Jennifer Yale
Lisa Boyd
Denise Harkavy
Deirdre Shaw

Not Pictured Drama Honorees:

Ariella Blejer & Dawn Kamoche
Aiyana White
Shukree Tilghman











Jeanne Leitenberg
Earl Davis


Access updated sample scripts and bios from previous honorees by clicking on the following links: 2015, 2014, 2013, 2011, 2010,2009


The project was launched by the WGAW’s Diversity department in early 2009. It is a peer judging program designed to identify excellent, diverse writers with television experience, and to provide a resource for accessing their work to showrunners, industry executives, agents and managers.

The TV Writer Access Project represents one effort by the WGAW to address the issue of underrepresentation of diverse writers on television writing staffs.

Read detailed current statistics about the employment of diverse television writers in the 2015 WGAW TV Staffing Brief.

The WGAW Diversity department welcomes any suggestions for improvements to the TV Writer Access Project in the future – you can contact us at: Diversity.

Tery Lopez
WGAW Director of Diversity

Original Post HERE.