Peabody Awards: ‘Abbott Elementary,’ ‘Andor,’ ‘Severance’ and ‘We’re Here’ Among Winners

‘Atlanta’ and ‘Better Call Saul’ earned their second Peabody Awards, having previously won the honor for their respective first seasons.

The Peabody Awards today announced the winners in the 35 categories honoring the most compelling and empowering stories released in broadcasting, streaming, and interactive media during 2022.

Notable winners include FX’s Atlanta and AMC’s Better Call Saul, which earned their second Peabody Awards after both series won for their first seasons.

Thematic trends among this year’s winners include projects that focused on environmental issues (Fire of LoveThe Territory and The Power of Big Oil), mental health (The Gap: Failure to Treat, Failure to Protect and Life Is Strange: True Colors), reproductive rights (This American Life: The Pink House at the Center of the World and Aftershock) and transgender rights (We’re Here and Contrapoints).

Winners were chosen by a unanimous vote of 32 jurors from over 1,400 entries from television, podcasts/radio and the web/digital in entertainment, news, documentary, arts, children’s/youth, public service and interactive programming. Of the 35 total wins, PBS produced the most with six, followed by Apple TV+ and Disney+ (three each) and HBO Max (two).

“Representing a wide range of mediums, genres, and narrative approaches, this year’s winners continue to advance what it means to craft storytelling that is compelling, powerful, and prescient,” said Peabody executive director Jeffrey Jones in a statement. “Whether capturing the lives of teachers in Philadelphia or young women in Afghanistan, these stories are powerful enough to make us laugh, cry, and learn. They are all deserving of this honor, and we are thrilled to shine a light on their amazing achievement. All citizens should seek out, watch, and engage these winners.”

The winners of the 83rd annual Peabody Awards will be celebrated on Sunday, June 11 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles. This will be Peabody’s first in-person ceremony since 2019 — as well as the first time ever in its history that the Awards will take place in Los Angeles — and will be hosted by Shrinking star Jessica Williams. At the event, Issa Rae and Lily Tomlin will receive honorary awards.

The full list of winners are below.


Abbott Elementary

Delicious Non-Sequitur Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television and 20th Television, a part of Disney Television Studios (ABC)