Spirit Awards 2024 Nominations List: ‘Past Lives,’ ‘May December,’ ‘American Fiction’ Lead With 5 Noms Each

American Fiction,” “May December” and “Past Lives” dominated the 2024 Independent Spirit Awards nominations on Tuesday, picking up five nodes apiece. The three movies are all up for best feature, where they will battle it out against “All of Us Strangers,” “Passages” and “We Grown Now.”

The annual honors recognize the best of television, as well as film. “The Last of Us,” a sci-fi epic that was a ratings hit for HBO, and “I’m a Virgo,” an absurdist miniseries from Boots Riley that was produced by Amazon, led the small screen crop, with four nominations each. Only new TV shows that have run for one season and were released between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 of this year are eligible for awards. That’s why some big-budgeted fare was deemed eligible or, in the parlance of the show, independent.

That’s not the case on the feature front, where films have to be produced for less than $30 million in order to be considered. That’s why early awards season favorites such as Searchlight’s “Poor Things” and Netflix’s “Nyad” and “Maestro” were not up for any honors. There were some notable snubs that did meet the budget requirements. “The Holdovers,” a critically acclaimed coming-of-age story, was nominated for four awards, but didn’t get a best feature nod. And “American Fiction,” which is considered to be a leading Oscar contender, scored a best feature nomination, but saw its director Cord Jefferson overlooked for his directing. Jefferson’s script was nominated.

The Indie Spirits don’t separate performers in terms of gender, unlike the Oscars or the Golden Globes. Best leading performance in a film is a contest between “Past Lives” stars Greta Lee and Teo Yoo, as well as Jessica Chastain (“Memory”), Greta Lee (“Past Lives”), Trace Lysette (“Monica”), Natalie Portman (“May December”), Judy Reyes (“Birth/Rebirth”), Franz Rogowski (“Passages”), Andrew Scott (“All of Us Strangers”), Teyana Taylor (“A Thousand and One”) and Jeffrey Wright (“American Fiction”). Several notable indie performers, such as “Showing Up’s” Michelle Williams, “May December’s” Julianne Moore and “The Holdovers’” Paul Giamatti (“The Holdovers”) were overlooked.

In TV and streaming, best lead performance is a fight between Emma Corrin (“A Murder at the End of the World”), Dominique Fishback (“Swarm”), Betty Gilpin (“Mrs. Davis”), Jharrel Jerome (“I’m a Virgo”), Zoe Lister-Jones (“Slip”), Bel Powley (“A Small Light”), Bella Ramsey (“The Last of Us”), Ramón Rodríguez (“Will Trent”) and Ali Wong (“Beef”).

A24, the hot indie producer behind “Past Lives” and “The Zone of Interest,” was the most-nominated distributor, with 11 nominations. It was followed by Netflix, which picked up 10 nominations for films like “May December” and series like “Beef.”

Joel Kim Booster and Natalie Morales revealed the nominations on Tuesday morning. “Saturday Night Live” alum Aidy Bryant will host the awards show on Feb. 25, with the ceremony starting at 2 p.m. PT. It will stream live on Film Independent’s YouTube channel and IMDB.com from its signature Santa Monica beach tent location.

See the nominees below.

Jury Duty
Creators/Executive Producers: Lee Eisenberg, Gene Stupnitsky
Executive Producers: David Bernad, Ruben Fleischer, Nicholas Hatton, Cody Heller, Todd Schulman, Jake Szymanski, Andrew Weinberg